Dry The Rain

It’s been one of the wettest winters on record in the Greater Los Angeles Area this year, and though the sun has stuck its head out to say hello, it doesn’t look like it’s going to slow down any time soon.

The garage floods.  The local jogging track and soccer pitch remains mostly underwater.  The back doormat has little hope of ever drying out.  The lawn is green with clover and little yellow wildflowers.

We have large potholes growing where there were never any before.  There has been a shortage of galoshes for little kids. Duckboots have come sneaking out from the deep clothing collections of East Coast transplants.  People stare at my trench with outward envy.

The drought is over.  Again.

My wife looks at the overcast days with relish, smiles and declares “Oh my gawd, I LOVE this weather!  It reminds me of Oregon!”  It reminds me of my love-hate relationship with “rainy season.”

My shoulder (which I separated on a rainy day six years ago) aches most of the time now.  The doors and windows are often closed against the cold and wet.  The sun peeks out often enough that double rainbows rule the sky.  The sky remains clear of smog most days, so that if you stand in the right spot on certain streets you can see clear from the port of Long Beach to the Hollywood sign.

I have an excuse to loudly play every song that has to do with rain that I own.

The overcast days always make me think my time in New Haven, where it seemed to rain all the time–Summer, Spring, Winter or Fall.  Rain with high heat and humidity, Rain with with cold, or Freezing Rain, just to mix it up.

In Southern California, we get sudden “Oh, whoops, I forgot to check the weather report so I’m going to be late to work!” kind of rain.  In LA, we get “Oh, hi!  it’s God here, and you kids have been dry for so long, that here’s three year’s worth of Sky Water in two weeks–y’all should really work on that climate change thing so we don’t have to do this” kind of rain.  It comes in weird waves of sideways, and soft annoying sprinkles, and pretty puddle making spouts; we get sunny sky sprinkles, and big breaks of Summer Skies in winter followed by typhoon-worthy downdrafts that vanish to clear skies as soon as you’re properly dressed.

My dog and my sons sometime track mud inside.

I sometimes stand in the doorway and just watch and listen as it falls, coating the earth, overwhelming the ground so it runs off down the street, to the drains, and out to sea. I listen to it as it taps on the roof, and echoes on the heater and stove vents, pinging off of the aluminum.

The other day, after I dropped off the kids, I found a parking spot near a park we used to go to and sat in the car.  It had been raining for something like 3 days straight.  I was under-slept, over-tired, stressed out, and just emotionally drained.  My shoulder ached, and I was angry at something, and the rain was coming down in sheets.  I sat in the car and screamed, wailed and let the tears come down.

After a few minutes, I got myself under control, wiped my face and got out of the car.  It stopped raining and the cool wind pushed me forward.  I stepped in a puddle, rubbed my shoulder and walked towards the coffee shop, and a different view.

7 thoughts on “Dry The Rain

  1. Coffee AND rain. Now you’re talking.
    Our downstairs has been permanently muddy since the storms started. I’ve done more loads of drenched and muddy little boy clothes than I would care to admit even if I could remember. I’ve watched it through the glass at work. I’ve listened to it on the roof when I should have been sleeping. I’ve walked in it, stopping to throw my hands to the side and gaze skyward like Andy Dufrane.
    And I’ve loved every minute of it. Growing up in the desert, rain has always been something special, to be treasured and enjoyed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You captured the angst of this ongoing wet, really really wet season. But also some of its joys. I, too, have a love hate relationship with this winter’s rains. Here in Bakersfield, the prediction is for clear skies for the rest of the week, even into next week. Yeah. I hope to go look for wildflowers soon, but it depends on the rain. Many places I go are crossed by non-paved roads, so they need time to dry out before I traverse them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We have not escaped some rain drama ourselves. Our dog kennel nearly overflowed into the garage which has never happened in the history of our living here. Noelle had to use 5 gallon buckets to bail the water in order to abate it. The combination of wind with crazy rain managed to get water underneath a mushroom like cover on the roof which resulted in water running down the wires and into the fuse box and short circuiting power to our master, also never happened in the history of our living here. Yes, we need to get this climate crisis in order. Mother nature is angry. We needed this rain desperately…but damn. There is now sun, and hordes of beautiful butterflies. It said we will have an amazing Poppy bloom this year. I feel your pain. Good to see something new from you. Hang in there, you got this! Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rainy New Haven… yeah.

    I remember our first summer there (summer of 1993 I think?) where it did NOT rain for like a month. It was horribly hot and muggy. For weeks. We were all incredibly grateful when it finally opened up and rained.

    We’ve had a bunch of rain up here in the Bay Area too (though I think not as bad as you). We live close to the train tracks, and I realized I love it when it rains at night because it drowns out the otherwise INCREDIBLY LOUD train horns at night. (Prevailing winds probably change when it rains too.)

    [hugs] Miss you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome post. I have missed reading you. I found the link to this while cleaning out my inbox (Don’t want to use the “H” word Job!) But I do have to admit, I’m with Deb, I love the rain, especially when accompanied by thunder. Can I add a song you missed (But maybe missed is the wrong word? You did say every song you owned)? The best song ever about rain? “I Can’t Stand The Rain” by Ann Peebles, I really love that one.

    Like

Got 2 cents?